Reading Response #9

This week, read Briggs Chapter 9 and Warren Sharp’s Stats Show the New England Patriots Became Nearly Fumble-Proof after 2006 Rule Change Proposed by Tom Brady.

Sharp wrote his post after the NFL found that the New England Patriots used under-inflated footballs in the playoffs. The post used data to provide some additional context to the controversy.

Any story can have a data component. (Really!) Think about your own blogs–your group blog as well as your personal blog. What’s an example of something you’ve written–or plan to write–that could have a data component? What data could you use, and how would it make the story better?

15 thoughts on “Reading Response #9

  1. Data now has way more meanings than it has in the past. It used to be graphs and information organized into readable and understandable ways. Now our phones have data, and now there is data on the internet. The word itself has grown a lot in just a few years.

    However, data could help my blog and other blogs in lots of ways. A few are that data shown in your blog makes it more credible. It makes your reader realize that you did your research, and that you’re making a point instead of just rambling and not thinking about what’s going into the post. When a post has data on it, I’m more apt to understand something that may have been otherwise unrecognizable.

    Like

  2. Data is very important in not only journalism but other areas like business, science, even accounting. It allows you to provide evidence to support your story, presentation, story board, ect. Like I stated before , data can be used for anything, for instance, in the article we read about football. Since Im unfamiliar with sports, data can make it easier for people like me to understand the topic of sports. As for my personal blog, I think if I used statistical data on certain celebrities fan base on social media, or statistical data on their endorsement deals, clothes, make-line and albums it can be really helpful.

    Like

  3. Since my blog focuses on music and the media, I can definitely use data to help my blog posts seem more interesting and reliable. Having data can help, in a sense, reassure the reader that the information is reliable and not made up. In my case, it would help me if i made a post on how different genre’s of music advertise and how well they do with sales. In a future post, i could definitely use data for that. As for some past posts that i’ve written, data would have worked for my “Maintstream vs. Underground Music” and “Promoting Concerts”. Each of those three posts could have data that would work. Mainstream vs. underground could have data that compares how many people listen to a certain band/artist. Promoting concerts could have data which shows which medium or source of tool is more successful to promote. I would use either graphs or charts because it would suit well with the posts I have made. I will definitely consider using some data in future posts.

    Like

  4. I think that my blog would definitely benefit from using statistics, charts and etc. I have often said that the media blew up certain stories or angled them a certain way, but I have had a hard time backing my statements up with facts. I usually link to a couple of stories to prove my point, but linking to three, four different articles isn’t enough. If I could find/use statistics that shows how many articles were written about certain events/people in periods or how many of them had certain angles that would be great, but I have tried to find those statistics, not for all my stories, but I remember trying to find that kind of stats on some of my posts, but I haven’t found them or anything similar. It may be my searching/goggling skills, but I think those stats are hard to find and they may not be available to the public.

    Like

  5. Data components in your blog posts are definitely important. They provide factual back up and great context for the reader. When something is supported by data, it automatically adds some credibility to you as a blogger. For my personal blog, I haven’t used numerical “data” yet – I tend to back up what I’m talking about through related social media posts, articles, etc. However, I do plan on writing a more data-backed post soon, possibly about the percentage of people that use social media to follow up with fashion news or how many people use Instagram to solely display/promote outfits – like a virtual runway and then talk about the influence these types of applications have on people

    Like

  6. In my personal blog, I have tried to add statistical data to many of my posts in order to provide a context for that post’s ideas. However, I really would like to include original survey data in my next group blog post on how college residents interact with their families. By collecting information on how frequently Pace’s on-campus students communicate with their families and visit home, I will be able to provide a better picture of these relationships. It is important that I do seek to represent not only myself as a dorming student, but the entire community, and I think that such surveys would provide me with a plethora of information. I really like the idea of incorporating charts and graphs into my posts as well because I find them to be very dynamic and aesthetically engaging for readers.

    Like

  7. I think I can include the data component into this blog post I’m working on “Can you be too old to be a Gamer?” What I can probably do is research the average ages of gamers from youths to adolescents all the way to adults and find out where the age actually peaks. The data that might be useful for older gamers who feel they are too old to still be playing video games and if they see that other people in their age range are still playing then they wont feel like an outcast. I think it would make the story better because it could serve as positive reinforcement for the older gamers who feel self-conscious about their hobby.

    Like

  8. I definitely agree that data components really can always be used. Reading the Chapter of Briggs also makes sense of that. Briggs went into detail about being a reporter and even sharing the smallest amount of data. Even having the smallest amount of data can grow into a much larger set of data and become of very good use to many other people. As far as my personal blog goes, I discuss different aspects of social media. There are so many things I’ve spoke about that could have had a data component. Even from having numbers of users of any specific social outlet feature I’ve mentioned, could have possessed some connection in my writing. I think speaking in any terms of social media can include all sorts of data. As far as the group blogs go, I’m talking about pleasantville and the community. I think that I can maybe survey pleasantville natives in terms of the business that I’m mentioning although I can’t really think of any other sort of data and numbers that would be useful. At the end I feel it would just come down to counting people, as in the customers of the business. Or even better, mentioning the years in a data table of how long the mom and pop shops have been around in pleasantville.

    Like

  9. Looking back on my blog after completing this week’s readings, I think I’ve done a great job of using data in my posts. Coming from a business background, I know how important numbers are to get a point across, so I think that’s why I’ve been so data driven with my personal blog from the beginning. With that being said, I couldn’t agree more with Clay Shirky’s quote in Briggs’ Chapter 9: “There is no such thing as information overload, only filter failure.” I think that what he’s trying to say is that even though data is essential to writing and so much information is available to us at our fingertips, we need to spend time researching to be sure that we use data that works best for what we’re trying to say. If you’re simply throwing numbers into a blog post, then there’s no added value to that. In the future, I plan to continue to follow trends within the travel media industry and share any new statistics, findings, graphs, etc. that are relevant to my topic.

    Like

  10. Data is obviously very important in the field of journalism as it provides the story with context as well as the ability to strengthen stories. It basically makes your story stronger because you have evidence and numbers to back up what you are saying, and sometimes even tell the story for you. The football article we had to read was interesting because it proved how data can apply to any industry when it comes to journalism. It is much easier for someone like me, who is not familiar with sports data to see it visually on the charts to understand what they are trying to say. If I read that and they were describing it I would probably be confused.
    I also loved the use of data in the dogs of NYC website. This gives the reader an interesting visual to look at and makes it very easy for them to understand. I would go back to that website if I was getting a dog to look at the different names of the dogs and that data behind it.. it’s so cute!
    Using data within my own blog might be an interesting thing to play around with. My topic is film industry and how it relates to social media and media in general. I could add some statistics about films as well as the amount of films that heavily rely on social media. This could add to my credibility as a blogger. I also will look for a blog in film industry that already might be using data.

    Like

  11. As mentioned already the NYC dog list was really cute!
    ing
    Now going to the question at hand about data and using it in our blogs, I think data can be a very beneficial tool in journalism. It serves as a way to analytically provide evidence for any point you are trying to make. It can also help you gain a better understanding for a certain topic you might want to write about. For instance, maybe you want to blog about how hitting in baseball has gone down in the past couple of seasons but yotatau aren’t really sure what to write or how to go about it. Stats on players hitting over that time period along with team stats and league comparisons can certainly help with that.

    For my own personal blog talking about women in sports media I think that there are a few stats that I could use. I’ve already used some such as the percentage of women in the workforce in sports media as opposed to men, and also looked at the percentage of women in positions of power relative to their male counterparts. Other data that I could use would be maybe to look at the number of female athletes in the professional realm as opposed to males. Another one could be just looking for numbers in terms of female employees in different areas of the industry, try and find some relevant charts. Making some infographics with relevant stats would also be a good and visually appealing way to lay down some information.

    Like

  12. As Alexis and Kayce have mentioned, the link you posted about the dogs were soo cute! I have three dogs and I am somewhat glad that none of their names made the popular list, so it just makes me happy that their names are somewhat original! In regards to your question about data being incorporated into blogs, I think that it is very beneficial and can be applied to just about anything. For instance, if one is writing about chairs, (because I was just looking at a chair) he/she can include data in which displays the most popular brand of chairs. Also, this person can include the type of fabric that is most preferable to consumers as well. In regards to my blog, I am writing about social media, so data can apply to many of my posts. For instance, I just recently wrote a post on whether or not violent video games should be banned. I could probably incorporate, say, how many “Call of Duty” video games have been distributed and sold this past year to consumers. I could possibly include a poll that I found from a source online on how many parents in America wish to see video games banned. Like I said, data can be included into any topic. In my opinion, it is actually more attractive when I read a post that has data to support a claim rather than one person’s opinion throughout the whole article or post.

    Like

  13. I agree with Alexis, the dogs were SOOOOOO precious!

    Regarding the reading and the additional link you provided, I realized how literally every story can have data to back it up. I think having data to accompany blog posts is very benefitial, espeically with my personal blog:NASA. When I think of data I think of graphs, charts, and excel sheets, but data can simply mean just havng proof from another source that is stating the same thing you are, which i feel i do very often in my posts. What I can do, however, is start adding a different kind of data in my posts. Whatever my chosen topic is, I can find a chart or a visual to correspond with my post and make it easier to follow and understand. For a future idea, I want to write about Pluto and how underrated it is. Aside from adding in my opinion and facts, I can provide a graph that shows the increasing findings and discoveries that have been made in the past year. I think by having that sort of data can add to the overall outcome of my blog, seeing as it gives me more credbility.

    Like

  14. Before I even state what I found regarding my topic, I just wanna say that the website of Dogs of NYC is so cute! Loved everything about it!

    But getting back to my topic which is celebrities / reality TV stars, I found a really cool website that created graphs regarding the intersecting world of reality TV and their opinion on how it started (which they say is The Hills). Its a super light and easy read, hope you enjoy it!

    Link:
    http://mentalfloss.com/article/29894/11-charts-and-graphs-about-television-shows

    Like

Leave a Reply

